Inspirational Books,  Reading,  The Writing Life

Looking for Award-Winning Fiction?

#ACFW #CarolAwards #ChristianFiction

American Christian Fiction Writers held its annual conference in Indianapolis over the weekend. At the banquet held Sunday evening, awards were distributed for both published and unpublished writers.


The Carol Awards are the best of the best. Perhaps you’ll find your next favorite novel among these 2013 Carol Award winners:


FINALISTS:  Seaside Reunion by Irene Hannon (Love Inspired)
                A Horseman’s Hope by Myra Johnson (Heartsong Presents)
WINNER:   Lost Legacy by Dana Mentink (Love Inspired)


FINALISTS:  You Don’t Know Me by Susan May Warren (Tyndale House)
                 Beyond the Storm by Carolyn Zane (Abingdon Press)
WINNER:    Heart Echoes by Sally John (Tyndale House)

Debut Novel

FINALISTS:  Proof by Jordyn Redwood (Kregal)
                 A Sweethaven Summer by Courtney Walsh (Guidepost Books)
WINNER:   Wildflowers from Winter by Katie Ganshert


FINALISTS:  At Every Turn by Anne Mateer (Bethany House)
                The Discovery by Dan Walsh (Revell)
WINNER:  Where Lilacs Still Bloom by Jane Kirkpatrick

Historical Romance

FINALISTS:  To Whisper Her Name by Tamera Alexander (Zondervan)
                 Short-Straw Bride by Karen Witemeyer (Bethany House)
WINNER:    A Promise to Love by Serena B. Miller (Revell)


FINALISTS:  Downfall by Terri Blackstock (Zondervan)
                 Gone to Ground by Brandilyn Collins (B&H Publishing)
WINNER:   The Soul Saver by Dineen Miller (Barbour Publishing)


FINALISTS:  You’re a Charmer, Mr. Grinch by Paula Moldenhauer
                 (Barbour Publishing)
                Impressed by Love by Lisa Karon Richardson 
                (Barbour Publishing)
WINNER:    A Recipe for Hope by Beth Wiseman (Thomas Nelson)


FINALISTS:  The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter (Thomas Nelson)
                An Uncommon Grace by Serena B. Miller
WINNER:   Saving Gideon by Amy Lillard (B&H Publishing)

Romantic Suspense

FINALISTS:  Tidewater Inn by Colleen Coble (Thomas Nelson)
                Saving Hope by Margaret Daley (Abingdon Press)
WINNER:    When a Heart Stops by Lynette Eason (Revell) – Find my review of the third book in the series here.


FINALISTS:  Daughter of Light by Morgan L. Busse (Marcher Lord Press)
                Judge by R. J. Larson (Bethany House)
WINNER:    Daystar by Kathy Tyers (Marcher Lord Press)

Young Adult

FINALISTS:  Prophet by R. J. Larson (Bethany House)
               The New Recruit by Jill Williamson (Marcher Lord Press)
WINNER:   Like Moonlight at Low Tide by Nicole Quigley (Zondervan)

Have you read any of the books on the above list? Which ones are in your TBR pile? Recommendations?

Additional Awards:

Renowned author Frank Peretti received a lifetime achievement award. Julie Gwinn with Abingdon Press received the Editor-of-the-Year Award. And Natasha Kern was presented with the Agent-of-the-Year Award.

The ACFW Genesis Award goes to unpublished writers. You’ll find the list of 2013 winners here.



As an author of heartwarming historical and contemporary romance, Sandra Ardoin engages readers with page-turning stories of love and faith. Rarely out of reach of a book, she's also an armchair sports enthusiast, country music listener, and seldom says no to eating out.

Let's Talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.